

MEMBERS

Mary N. Piepho

ALTERNATE MEMBERS Candace Andersen

County Member Sharon Burke Public Member

> Tom Butt City Member

Stanley Caldwell Special District Member

December 14, 2016 Agenda Item 10

Lou Ann Texeira Executive Officer Public Member Federal Glover County Member Michael R. McGill Special District Member

Donald A. Blubaugh

County Member Rob Schroder City Member Igor Skaredoff Special District Member

Don Tatzin City Member

December 14, 2016 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

Commissioner Terms

Dear Members of the Commission:

This is an update regarding Commissioner appointments and the process for filling vacancies.

The authority and procedures for appointing members of the Commission are set forth in the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 (CKH Act). All terms of office on LAFCO are four years, expiring on the first Monday in May, unless otherwise specified.

There are no Commissioner terms expiring in 2017. However, due to the departure of County Supervisor Mary N. Piepho, the County Board of Supervisors will need to appoint a new LAFCO member. LAFCO staff will coordinate with the County regarding the upcoming vacancy, and report back to the Commission following the appointment. The Board of Supervisors typically makes its appointments in January.

RECOMMENDATION - Receive report.

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA EXECUTIVE OFFICER